SodaTide Official Website › Blog › Mixed Probiotics, Not This Blend
What “Mixed Probiotics Reduce Body Fat” Research Actually Studied, And Why It Is Not This Blend
A meta-analysis pooling twenty-six trials of probiotics and body adiposity exists, it is already cited on this site’s ingredients page, and it does report reductions in body weight, waist circumference and fat mass. It is also, on close reading, a pooling of named, dosed products — single organisms and multi-organism blends alike, every one of them identified and measured. An unnamed three-species blend is not a smaller version of that evidence. It is outside it.
The claim in circulation, and where it actually comes from
“Probiotics reduce body fat” is a sentence that circulates far more freely than the research behind it. It is worth tracing that sentence back to an actual paper, because SodaTide’s own ingredients page already cites one: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials looking at probiotics, body adiposity and cardiovascular risk markers in people with overweight and obesity. That paper is real, it is properly indexed, and its results are more specific and more conditional than the one-line version of the claim suggests.
This post reads that meta-analysis closely and asks a narrower question than whether probiotics in general can reduce body fat. It asks what kind of product the pooled trials actually tested, because that is the detail a one-line summary of a meta-analysis always loses first, and it is the detail that decides whether the finding has anything to say about an unnamed blend.
What the meta-analysis behind that claim pooled
Pontes and colleagues searched MEDLINE, EMBASE, Scopus and LILACS for randomised controlled trials published through December 2020, and pooled twenty-six of them, covering 1,720 participants with overweight or obesity. Every trial that qualified for inclusion tested probiotic supplementation against a control, in adults, with adiposity or a cardiovascular risk marker as an outcome.
That is the frame the whole paper sits inside: twenty-six separate clinical trials, each one a study of a specific, administered product, combined using a random-effects statistical model to estimate an average effect across all of them. A meta-analysis like this does not generate new data of its own. It summarises what twenty-six real, individually identifiable products did in twenty-six real trials, and the summary is only as meaningful as the description of what went into it.
The numbers: weight, waist, fat mass and insulin
The pooled results were genuinely positive on several measures. Compared with control groups, probiotic supplementation was associated with a significant reduction in body weight (mean difference −0.70 kg, 95% CI −1.04 to −0.35 kg, P < 0.0001), body mass index (−0.24 kg/m², P = 0.0001), waist circumference (−1.13 cm, P < 0.0001) and fat mass (−0.71 kg, P = 0.0004). Several markers not directly tied to body composition also moved: tumour necrosis factor alpha fell (−0.16 pg/mL, P = 0.0001), insulin fell (−0.85 µU/mL, P = 0.010), and total cholesterol and LDL both fell modestly.
| Outcome | Pooled effect (probiotic vs control) | Significant? |
|---|---|---|
| Body weight | −0.70 kg | Yes, P < 0.0001 |
| Body mass index | −0.24 kg/m² | Yes, P = 0.0001 |
| Waist circumference | −1.13 cm | Yes, P < 0.0001 |
| Fat mass | −0.71 kg | Yes, P = 0.0004 |
| Insulin | −0.85 µU/mL | Yes, P = 0.010 |
| Total cholesterol / LDL | Small reductions | Yes, P = 0.003 / 0.006 |
Twenty-six pooled RCTs, 1,720 participants. As the meta-analysis reports its own numbers.
Read at this level, the headline claim holds up: this is real evidence that probiotic supplementation, averaged across a body of trials, is associated with small but statistically significant reductions in weight, BMI, waist circumference and fat mass. The question this post exists to answer is what “probiotic supplementation” meant inside those twenty-six trials, because that is the part a summary sentence leaves out.
The two variables that actually predicted a result
The paper does not stop at an overall average. It also reports that decreases in body adiposity parameters specifically were only observed in the subset of studies using a probiotic dose of at least 1010 colony-forming units and lasting at least eight weeks. That is a meaningful qualifier: it means the headline reduction in fat mass is not something every probiotic product at every dose produced across the twenty-six trials. It is concentrated in trials that met a specific, statable dose and duration threshold, both of which were reported for every included trial because a trial cannot be pooled into a meta-analysis if its dose and duration are unknown.
This is the first place the “unnamed blend” problem becomes concrete. The finding that matters most for a body-fat claim is conditional on a dose the researchers could state precisely for every trial included. A product whose own label prints no colony-forming-unit count at all cannot be placed on either side of that 1010 threshold. It is not that the product falls below the effective dose; it is that there is no way, from the label, to know where it falls.
SodaTide pairs its blend with two prebiotic fibres
The fibres are the better-documented half of this label. The ingredients page prints the amount every published trial of each one used, beside the name.
Two bottles $158 · six bottles $294 · 60-day money-back guarantee
Order SodaTide On The Official WebsiteOne capsule a day · 30 per bottle
Single-strain and multi-strain trials were pooled together, and both were named
The meta-analysis reports one more detail directly relevant to a blend product: a significant decrease in body weight, BMI and waist circumference was seen “in studies using both single and multi-bacterial species.” In plain terms, the twenty-six trials were not all testing one organism; some tested a single strain and others tested combinations of several. Both kinds of product produced a detectable average effect, and the paper treats that as a reason the finding generalises reasonably well across formulation types.
What it does not do is relax the requirement that each of those products be identified. A multi-species trial in this pooling still specifies which species, in what combination, at what colony-forming-unit count, for how long. The “multi” in “multi-bacterial species” describes a studied variable — more than one named organism, administered together, at a stated total dose — not an absence of naming. The ISAPP consensus definition of a probiotic, cited elsewhere on this site, requires exactly this: a live micro-organism, named specifically enough to be identified, administered in an amount that can be stated. A mixed product satisfies that definition by naming every organism in the mix. An unnamed blend does not satisfy it for any of them.
What “mixed” means in the trial literature, and what it means on this label
This is the distinction this whole post turns on, so it is worth stating it twice, in two different ways. In the research literature, a “mixed” or multi-strain probiotic product is a product whose composition is fully specified: genus, species and strain for each organism, and a colony-forming-unit count for the combination, exactly as precisely described as a single-strain product would be. “Mixed” describes how many organisms, not how much information about them.
On SodaTide’s own label, “blend” describes something different: a category name with nothing under it. This site’s ingredients page already states the limit plainly — the artwork names a probiotic blend and stops, with no organism named and no count printed anywhere in the pack. Those two uses of similar-sounding language point at opposite ends of the same spectrum. A multi-strain product in the Pontes meta-analysis is a fully specified combination that happens to contain more than one organism. A probiotic blend on this label is an unspecified combination that could contain any organisms, in any ratio, at any dose. Averaging results across fully specified multi-strain products, as the meta-analysis does, is a defensible statistical operation. Reading that average as evidence for an unspecified blend is not the same operation at all; it is applying a number to a product the underlying research never had the information to describe.
| Feature | A trial in the Pontes meta-analysis | SodaTide’s probiotic blend |
|---|---|---|
| Organisms | Named, genus/species/strain, one or several | Not named |
| Colony-forming-unit count | Stated for every included trial | Not printed |
| Duration | Stated; ≥8 weeks associated with adiposity effects | Not stated on the label |
| Whether it can be placed against the dose/duration threshold above | Yes, by definition of inclusion | No information to place it |
The meta-analysis pools fully specified products. The label does not specify this one.
How this differs from this site’s labeling-standard post
The existing post on this blog about the unnamed blend argues from a labeling standard: it lays out what a probiotic label is supposed to carry — a strain designation, a colony-forming-unit count, a statement of when that count applies — and states that this bottle carries none of the three. That is an argument about what SHOULD be printed, grounded in the ISAPP consensus definition of what a probiotic claim requires.
This post makes a different argument, using different evidence. It is not about what the label should say. It is about what the broader research literature on mixed probiotics and body fat actually contains, read carefully enough to see that every trial inside it, single-strain or multi-strain, is a named and dosed product. The conclusion the two posts reach is the same — this blend cannot borrow a result from this research — but they reach it by different routes: one by comparing the label against a standard, the other by comparing the label against what the evidence itself requires in order to be pooled at all. A reader who wants the labeling argument should read the other post; a reader who has specifically heard the “mixed probiotics reduce body fat” claim and wants to know what research that claim rests on should read this one.
What a buyer can and cannot conclude from this
The honest position sits between two overstatements. It would be wrong to say the mixed-probiotic literature has nothing to do with this product category at all; a real meta-analysis of twenty-six trials, including multi-strain products, found small but statistically significant reductions in weight, waist circumference and fat mass, concentrated in trials at or above 1010 CFU for eight weeks or more. That is genuine, category-level evidence that mixed probiotic products, properly specified and dosed, can move these markers.
It would be equally wrong to read that finding as evidence for this specific blend. The meta-analysis pooled products whose organisms and doses were known well enough to be reported in a table of included studies. SodaTide’s own ingredients page states that this label does neither. A buyer weighing this ingredient should hold both facts at once: the category has real supporting research, and this particular product cannot be matched against the dose and duration conditions that research says actually matter.
A real meta-analysis of twenty-six trials found that mixed and single-strain probiotics together produced small but significant reductions in weight, waist circumference, fat mass and insulin — concentrated in trials at 1010 CFU or more, for eight weeks or longer. Every trial in that pooling named its organisms and stated its dose. SodaTide’s blend does neither, so the finding cannot be matched to this product, even though the category it belongs to has real evidence behind it.
SodaTide is a dietary supplement, not a drug. Nothing on this page treats, cures or prevents anything, and nothing here is medical advice. A persistent change in bowel habit, unexplained weight change, blood, pain or fever are reasons to be assessed by a clinician rather than reasons to start a capsule.
References
- Pontes KSDS, Guedes MR, Cunha MRD, Mattos SS, Barreto Silva MI, Neves MF, Marques BCAA, Klein MRST. Effects of probiotics on body adiposity and cardiovascular risk markers in individuals with overweight and obesity: A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Clin Nutr. 2021;40(8):4915-4931. PMID 34358838. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34358838/
- Hill C, Guarner F, Reid G, et al. Expert consensus document. The International Scientific Association for Probiotics and Prebiotics consensus statement on the scope and appropriate use of the term probiotic. Nat Rev Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2014;11(8):506-14. PMID 24912386. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/24912386/